Exploring Georgetown

For my first every solo trip, I decided to visit Penang, Malaysia. I am so glad I have decided to booked this flight and experienced going solo for the first time. It wasn’t quite bad. and if there is anything I would want to do again, it will be going on a solo trip again, with just me and my back pack. I know I know I have a lot more to learn but I am more than willing to experience everything. So bring it on!

Here are some of the highlights of my trip. I am thankful to all those kind people who didn’t mind taking pictures of me.

It was so hot and hazy during my trip to Penang so I decided to grab a taxi to go to my first destination. The uncle (taxi driver) who drove me from Gurney Plaza to Lebuh Armenian was kind enough to lead me to this place. All I asked for him was to take me to the street arts. I know this may not the ideal budget trip but I’ll just charge this to experience. For my first day, the famous children on a bicycle welcomed me to Georgetown.

IMG_8976I forgot to mention that Uncle also gave me some maps for this walking trip. I wasn’t able to get some at the airport when I arrive the night before so the map this Uncle gave me made my first day in Georgetown a breeze. Here are just some of the street arts I was able to capture from my ever dependable iPad.

IMG_8978                IMG_9278

IMG_9033                                     IMG_9092

Georgetown also have markings that tells of the different remarkable stories that made up this UNESCO World Heritage place. These are just few of them. Thanks to the hazy weather I was too tired to explore more of this historical place. But nonetheless, I told myself I will definitely go back. I have a lot more to learn and love in Penang.

IMG_8994 IMG_8995 IMG_8997

IMG_8996          IMG_9006  IMG_9008 IMG_9089 IMG_9093 IMG_9103

Next stop, The Camera Museum. For just 10 RM, marvel at the collection of different cameras way back when digital was not even a word.

IMG_9036

IMG_9037           IMG_9040

IMG_9044
Strike a pose!

IMG_9047 IMG_9048 IMG_9049 IMG_9050 IMG_9051 IMG_9052 IMG_9053 IMG_9054IMG_9065

IMG_9066IMG_9046  IMG_9067

And for refreshment, coffee please! There are so many cool concept coffee shops so feel free to choose. These are just some of the cafes at Love Lane.

IMG_9028 IMG_9029 IMG_9030

But I decided to try Mugshot Cafe along Lebuh Chulia. Some of my friends told me it is a nice place, so… Kopi!

IMG_9010 IMG_9018 IMG_9019

IMG_9022
IMG_9020 The mandatory shot 🙂

                IMG_9021   Some more pictures in Love Lane. Why, Oh Why does it have to be love when I am all alone… Sigh…

The Love Lane
The Love Lane
Seriously?! Cupid Cafe in Live Lane. Ok. Kill me :P
Seriously?! Cupid Cafe in Love Lane. Ok. Kill me 😛
Huh! Look! I'm not alone in Love Lane anymore.
Huh! Look! I’m not alone in Love Lane anymore.

On my last day in Penang, I was able to meet a fellow wanderer. Taqin from Indonesia. Learned a lot from this guy who has traveled 11 countries in just 2 years. Now I am jealous. lol. Met him again at the airport when I missed my flight back to Manila because of the hazy weather. But that will be on a different post. I will also be posting another one for my Langkawi trip.

Thank you for dropping by.

Lots of love, #MariaWanders

5 thoughts on “Exploring Georgetown

    1. AT first it was really scary. I have no idea what strange things will I be experiencing along the way or the thought that I might meet crazy people in the hostel or whatever. But it turned out to be quite an adventure. It wasn’t bad after all. The people I’ve met were all friendly and you really have no option but to talk to them and get to know them. I will be doing it again. =)

Leave a Reply

